These Days

These are times that try men’s souls. – Thomas Paine, 1776

 

Lord, let my soul be proven faithful to You.

Let me be as faithful to You as dust to a magnet.

Let me be as faithful to You as the dark side of the moon.

for, Lord, I am lost and do not know in which direction to turn.

Where shall I seek You, Lord?

Shall I seek You in my own works? My own ability? My own striving?

Shall I seek You in the smiles and embraces of friends?

Shall I seek You in the joy of a newly turned page,

of the sun wind in my hair,

of cold running stream water?

Shall I seek You in a dark night of prayer and crying? 

Where shall I seek myself?

I am in the pebbles at the bottom of the stream,

In the roots of trees,

In the damp handkerchiefs and half-forgotten notes of friendship,

In the moment of awakening.

Where I am, You are.

Where You are not, I am lost.

A woman must place her heart in God, so that a man must seek God to find her.

I must place my heart in You, O Lord, so that I must seek You to find myself.

Where my heart truly rises, Lord, it is in Your grace, not in my own striving.

Let all my achievements be stricken,

Let my aspirations turn to dust, 

Let my legs be broken, Lord,

But leave my voice and my heart so that I may cry for You.

Let me lose myself to find You.

Without you, I cannot be.

Let me be as faithful to you as the dark side of the moon, Lord,

for without You, I would have no light.

Leave a Reply

